Alpine on Technical organizations after poor start

Alpine on Technical organizations after poor start



March 4th, 2024

Alpine has revealed a series of organizational adjustments in its technical department in response to a challenging beginning to the 2024 season.

Concerns about the A524's performance were confirmed in Bahrain as Pierre Gasly and Esteban Ocon ended up qualifying at the back of the grid due to the car being overweight and under-powered.

RacingNews365 reported on Saturday that Technical Director Matt Harman and Head of Aerodynamics Dirk de Beer had submitted their resignations, with the team now introducing a new three-pillared approach to its technical leadership.

The Technical Director (Performance), Technical Director (Aerodynamics), and Technical Director (Engineering) positions will take over from Harman's current Technical Director role.

They implemented a comparable strategy to McLaren's plan for 2024 after James Key left.

The new roles will be taken on by Ciaron Pilbeam, David Wheater, and Joe Burnell, with Pilbeam previously serving as Mark Webber's race engineer at Red Bull. The trio will be reporting to Team Principal Bruno Famin.

Heading the power unit side is Eric Meignan, while Alpine has appointed John Woods and Audrey Vastroux as Chief Operating Officers at Enstone and Viry, respectively.

"We have decided to make these organisational changes as we can clearly see that we are not where we want nor need to be in terms of performance level and it is time to take another step in terms of organisation and people," Famin clarified that he was officially appointed as Team Principal in early 2024 after serving in an interim capacity since Otmar Szafnauer's exit in mid-2023.

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by reading our blog.

Stay connected with us on our social networks for the latest updates InstagramFacebook, and X

Image credit F1.COM

tag: Alpine

Klind Parangoni Author

You May Also Like