Lando Norris Wins Miami Grand Prix in Thrilling Upset! Getty

Lando Norris Wins Miami Grand Prix in Thrilling Upset!



May 6th, 2024

The 2024 Formula 1 served up a dramatic surprise as McLaren's Lando Norris wins his first F1 victory at the Miami Grand Prix. This emotional win sent shockwaves through the sport and ignited jubilation amongst McLaren fans worldwide.

Local Fans Thrilled by Norris' Victory and Verstappen's Setback

MARCA had the opportunity of interviewing McLaren supporters from across the United States, including Miami locals. The common theme? Elation for Norris and a touch of schadenfreude towards reigning champion Max Verstappen. Fans enthusiastically described Norris' triumph over Verstappen as "awesome" and Verstappen's struggles as a definite "cheering moment" for many F1 enthusiasts.

Verstappen's Dominance Halted by Early Mishap

Verstappen, who reigned supreme at the Miami Grand Prix in 2022 and 2023, found himself playing catch-up after a collision with a small traffic post early in the race. This unexpected pitstop allowed Norris to capitalize by changing tires and surging ahead. Ultimately, Norris secured a dominant win, finishing a solid seven seconds ahead of the competition. While Verstappen salvaged second place, Ferrari's Charles Leclerc secured a well-deserved podium finish in third.

Norris' Long-Awaited First Victory

This victory marks a momentous occasion for Norris. Since joining McLaren Racing in 2019, he has clocked over 6,000 grueling laps. Yet, a coveted first-place finish remained elusive. The Miami Grand Prix finally saw Norris break the spell, denying Verstappen his third consecutive Miami win. The entire McLaren family, from Norris' home country of Great Britain to supporters across the globe, erupted in celebration.

Final Standings - Miami Grand Prix 2024

1.Lando Norris (McLaren)

2.Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

3.Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

4.Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

5.Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

6.Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

7.Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)

8.George Russell (Mercedes)

9.Fernando Alonso (Alpine)

10.Esteban Ocon (Alpine)

The Miami Grand Prix delivered an unexpected hero in Lando Norris as he wins hi firts F1 RACE. This thrilling upset promises to be a highlight of the 2024 F1 season and paves the way for an exciting championship battle.

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by reading our blog.

Stay connected with us on our social networks for the latest updates Facebook, and X

tag: Lando Norris , Miami Grand Prix

Klind Parangoni Author

You May Also Like